UINTAH SCHOOL DISTRICT POLICY ACTION REVIEW
007.0810 ATTENDANCE POLICY
REVISES POLICY 007.0810 ATTENDANCE (LAST APPROVED 2/11/14)
1.0 COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE
Attendance at school is required
by Utah State law and is considered critical to academic
success. Utah State law requires that parents and
guardians having control of a minor between six and eighteen years of age shall
send the minor to
a public or a regularly established private school of the district
in which the minor resides.
2.0 ATTENDANCE EXEMPTIONS
Students who meet one or more of the following conditions to the satisfaction of the Board and agree to the terms and conditions set forth in an agreement provided by the District shall be exempt from compulsory attendance requirements and shall be given a letter of approval, issued by the Board, stating that the minor is excused from attendance during the time specified on the certificate.
2.1 A student over the age of 16 may receive a partial release from school to enter employment if the minor has completed the eighth grade, or if the minorís services are required for the support of a parent. Minors receiving this exemption must still attend school or home school part-time as required by the Board. (Utah Code Ann. 53A-11-102(1) (b) (2005).
2.2 On an annual basis, a minor between six and 18 years of age may receive a full release from attending a public, regularly established private or part-time school or class if one of the following is established to the Boardís satisfaction:
2.2.1 The minor has already completed the work required for graduation from high school, or has demonstrated the required skills and competencies under the early graduation program.
2.2.2 The minor is in a physical or mental condition, certified by a licensed physician, which renders attendance inexpedient and impracticable.
2.2.3 The district superintendent has determined that a school-age minor over the age of 16 is unable to profit from attendance at school because of inability or a continuing negative attitude toward school regulations and discipline.
2.2.4 The minor between the ages of 16 and 18 years of age has agreed to and received the support of their parents, the administration of the high school, the adult education director and the superintendent or his/her designee to attend the adult education program, where they will receive their diploma. (Utah Code Ann 53AS-11-102 (1) (a) (ii) (2005).
2.3 On an annual basis, a minor between six and 18 years of age shall be released from full or part-time attendance at a public, regularly established school or class if the studentís parent or guardian files a signed affidavit with the District affirming that the minor will attend a home school.
2.4 For a student enrolled in a nontraditional program the district shall:
2.4.1 document each student's continued enrollment status in compliance with the continuing enrollment policy at least once every ten consecutive school days; and
2.4.2 appropriately adjust and update student membership records in the student information system for students that did not meet the continuing enrollment measurement.
2.4.3 The continuing enrollment measurement will be determined by the LEA and be in accordance with R277-419-5.
3.0 ATTENDANCE EXPECTATIONS
Students in Uintah County School District will be expected to be in attendance a minimum of 93% in any and all classes. This allows parents to excuse students up to six (6) days a semester or four (4) days a trimester.
3.1 Students will be excused by their parents within five (5) school days of the absence by phone or written approval for the following reasons:
3.1.1 Illness, medical or dental appointment, death in the family, family emergency, court subpoena or prearranged absences approved by parent and principal.
3.1.2 Participation in school-sponsored or Board of Education approved activities which require absence from school for all or a portion of the day shall not be considered an absence on the district records kept for Weighted Pupil Units (WPU).
3.1.3 Assignments and instructional materials missed as a result of the excused absences or school activity will be provided by the school as outlined in Uintah School District Student Policy 006.500.
3.2 No person shall be allowed to remove a student from school during the school day unless that person first reports to the principal or the schoolís Administrative Office and one of the following circumstances is true:
3.2.1 The person positively identifies him or herself as the studentís custodial parent or legal guardian or designee identified by custodial parent or legal guardian.
3.2.2 The person is in possession and possesses a valid subpoena or Court Order instructing the school to deliver the student to the person named in the subpoena and the person can positively identify him or herself as the person named to receive the student in the subpoena or order.
3.2.3 The person is a properly identified law enforcement officer in possession of a valid warrant naming the student, and the principal or his designee examines the warrant and is satisfied that the student is properly and sufficiently identified.
3.2.4 The parent or legal guardian authorizing or requesting the release of the student during the school day assumes full and complete responsibility for the actions of the student and for any harm or injury that may come to the student after release by the School Administrator or the Attendance Office.
3.2.5 Parents may not excuse a student leaving class or campus during the school day without permission, after the fact.
A student not properly excused will be considered truant. Truancy is defined as missing part of or a full day of school without authorization.
The school district shall make
efforts to resolve the school attendance problems of each school-age minor who
is, or should be, enrolled in the school district.
The efforts shall include, as reasonably feasible:
4.1.1 counseling of the minor by school authorities;
4.1.2 issuing a notice of truancy to a school-age minor who is at least 12 years old in accordance with Section 53A-11-101.7;
4.1.3 issuing a notice of compulsory education violation to a parent of a school-age child (under 14 years of age), in accordance with Section 53A-11-101.5;
making any necessary adjustment to
the curriculum and schedule to meet
special needs of the minor;
4.1.5 considering alternatives proposed by a parent;
4.1.6 monitoring school attendance of the minor;
4.1.7 voluntary participation in truancy mediation, if available; and
4.1.8 providing a school-age minor's parent, upon request, with a list of resources available to assist the parent in resolving the school-age minor's attendance problems.
4.1.9 enlisting the assistance of community and law enforcement agencies as appropriate and reasonably feasible in accordance with Section 53A-11-911.
4.2 When a student is truant, the principal or his/her designee is authorized to issue:
4.2.1 a Notice of Truancy to school-age minors who are at least 12 years old in accordance with Section 53A-11-101.5 if the student has been truant at least five times during the school year.
a Notice of Compulsory Education
Violation to a parent of a school-age
child under 14 years old, in accordance with Section 53A-11-101.5 if the student has been truant at least five times during the school year.
4.2.3 The notices shall direct the school-age minor and/or parent to meet with school authorities to
126.96.36.199 discuss the truancies;
188.8.131.52 cooperate with school district in securing regular attendance;
184.108.40.206 and shall be mailed to, or served on, the parent.†
4.3 A minor may not be referred to law enforcement or court but may be referred to alternative school-related interventions as defined in 53A-11-911.
4.4 The parents, guardians, or person having control of a truant student shall cooperate with school authorities in resolving attendance problems. If the behavior is not corrected after earnest and persistent efforts are made by those parties, or, if the parents, guardians or person having control refuse to cooperate after earnest and persistent efforts are made by school authorities, the truant student may be referred to alternative school-related interventions.
5.0 DUE PROCESS
(See 007.0900 Due Process for Students approved 6/21/05.)
1 Educational neglect means that, after receiving notice that a minor has been frequently absent from school without good cause or that the minor has failed to cooperate with school authorities in a reasonable manner, a parent or guardian fails to make a good faith effort to ensure that the minor receives an appropriate education. [78-3a-103(1)(q)(ii)]